menu

Department of Russian

People menu

People

Anna Ananieva

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow
Room : Lindop House 2D
+44 (0) 207 882 8512
a.ananieva@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : European History of the 18th - 19thC, German and Russian Culture & Literature in the transnational perspective, theory & practice of space (garden, city, interior), material culture, visual art, memory, practices of sociability, press & publishing history

Noah Birksted-Breen

PhD student: Russian and drama
n.j.birksted-breen@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Russian documentary theatre; political playwriting in Russia, Ukraine and Belarus; Teatr.doc, Moscow Arts Theatre, Kolyada-Theatre; censorship and self-censorship in cultural production

Nadezda Bragina

Russian Language Studies Co-Ordinator
Room : Arts One, 2.44
+44 (0)20 7882 8322
n.bragina@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Concept of motivation in foreign language learning and the ways of enhancing it in the classroom through various creative educational tools including communicative games, songs, computer technologies, use of audio-visual materials

Jeremy Hicks

Chair Of Department Of Russian
Room : Arts One 243
+44 (0)20 7882 8306
j.g.hicks@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Soviet film and World War Two, Soviet Film and the Holocaust, Reception of Soviet film in the West (1920s-40s), Dziga Vertov, Mikhail Zoshchenko, Soviet literature (1920s-40s)

Dr Olga Makarova

Teaching and Research Fellow In Russian
Room : Arts One 245
+44 (0)20 7882 8313
o.makarova@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : The life and works of Aleksei Suvorin, a publishing tycoon in late 19C Russia, 'The Woman Question' (feminist issues) in 19C Russian journalism, Translation theory and technique

Katie McElvanney

PhD student: Russian and History
k.mcelvanney@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Women journalists in the Russian revolution and civil war

Michał Murawski

Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellow
Room : Lindop House 2D
07980207018
m.murawski@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Anthropology of architecture and of cities; post-socialism; Moscow; Warsaw

Donald Rayfield

Emeritus Professor of Russian
d.rayfield@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Russian and comparative literature 1880-1940, Georgian literature, history and lexicology; Stalin and Stalinist rule

Andreas Schönle

Professor of Russian
Room : Arts One 242
+44 (0)20 7882 8329
a.schonle@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Russian and comparative literature 1790-1890, literary and cultural theory. Particular interests include the semiotic fashioning of space (gardens, cities, travels), the perception of ruins, and cultural constructions of time

Return to top